HomeDaily DigestLast Session of Constituent Assembly

Last Session of Constituent Assembly

In 1946, different provincial assemblies in India were allowed to elect the members of the Constituent Assembly, who acted as members of the first Parliament. Following the partition of the country into India and Pakistan, the number of members came down from 389 to 299. Congress dominated the assembly with 208 seats and Muslim League bagged 73.

According to Jawaharlal Nehru, the Assembly’s primary task was to truly liberate India through a new constitution – to feed the starving, clothe the naked and provide opportunities to every Indian to develop according to their capacities.

Committees within the Assembly were delegated with different tasks. Dr B R Ambedkar led the Drafting Committee. A detailed draft was presented by him, which was publicised for public discussion and was subjected to deep deliberations and amendments over a long period of time. Other prominent members in the Constituent Assembly included Jawaharlal Nehru, Rajendra Prasad, B N Rau, Abdul Kalam Azad, Vallabhbhai Patel, John Mathai etc. The Assembly functioned for 2 years, 11 months and 18 days and its last session was held on January 24th, 1950.

The constitution was adopted and came in to force on 26th January 1950, which is why this day is now celebrated as India’s Republic Day.


Connect with

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Giroud Bible Believer

Pearls – Dec 16, 2022

Dominus regit me et nihil mihi deerit (Latin)Bible The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want (ENGLISH)Bible
Hard Work Beats Talent When Talent Doesn't Work Hard" - Tim Notke

Pearls – Dec 15, 2022

As I always say - you have no feelings when you are on the pitch. You are there to play, to give the best for your team.

Pearls – Dec 14, 2022

Say more with your feet than you ever could with words

Pearls – Dec 13, 2022

“In football as in watch making, talent and elegance mean nothing without rigor and precision”. – Lionel Messi

Pearls – Dec 12, 2022

“Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.” – Pele

Pearls – Dec 11, 2022

“You may loose battles, you may even loose wars, but you are really defeated and utterly annihilated if you loose faith and hope” ― Bangambiki Habyarimana

Pearls – Dec 10, 2022

Pearls – Dec 9, 2022

Pearls – Dec 8, 2022

“I once cried because I had no shoes to play soccer, but one day, I met a man who had no feet.” – Zinedine Zidane

Pearls – Dec 7, 2022